Pretoria (South Africa)

Pretoria Travel Guide and Trip Resources


Afrikaner heritage city

Pretoria is the executive and de facto national capital of the Republic of South Africa. It lies in the north of the country, at less than a 1 hour drive from Johanesburg. The city was founded in 1855 at the end of the Great Trek by Marthinus Pretorius, one of the Boer Voortrekker leaders. The area was not inhabited by any African tribes before that. It is nicknamed Jacaranda City as in October and November the Jacaranda trees - found through the entire city - are in bloom and turn it purple.

Pretoria is a very different city to nearby Johannesburg. Culturally it is more Afrikaans (it is the first language of nearly half its population, compare with 12% in Johannesburg), and the pace here is notably slower. More colonial architecture is on show here, the main highlights of which are the imposing Voortrekker Monument and the Union Buildings, the official seat of the South African government (pictured).

Besides that there are some nice sights of a different type: the National Zoological Gardens and Pretoria National Botanical Garden. As Pretoria is a university city, naturally the nightlife is quite bustling and eclectic here. [Review by travelindicator]

Key info

  • Pretoria is a city in South Africa's region of Gauteng. It has a population of 1,619,438, is situated at an altitude of 4304ft and the best airport to fly into is JNB (Oliver Reginald Tambo International (jan Smuts International), Johannesburg)
  • The currency used in South Africa is the South African rand (ZAR)

Other cities in the region (Gauteng, South Africa)


Pretoria Weather

Historical average maximum temperature per month (℉):

81 81 79 75 70 66 66 72 77 81 81 82

Historical average rainfall per month (inches):

4.8 4.2 3.6 1.3 0.9 0.2 0.4 0.4 0.8 2.4 4.6 4.6

Pretoria Attractions (Foursquare)

Browse: Most Similar Cities (Travelindicator algorithm)

Browse: Nearest Destinations (33mi-265mi)

User activity

Other travel destinations in South Africa (by popularity)

Cape Town, Kruger National Park, Addo Elephant National Park, Pretoria, Durban, Jeffreys Bay, Franschhoek, Port Elizabeth, Johannesburg, Bloemfontein, Drakensberg, Upington, Kimberley, Port Nolloth [Browse all]